California  |  Business Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/11/13, 7:12 pm

A company I almost did contracting for is now using my name in their website without my permission. I never worked for them.

I am a software developer and I have 4 apps in the android marketplace, I have 2 software engineering websites and I feel they tried to use my name so they could look good to potential customers. I feel I deserve compensation, can I sue them?

5 Answers


Answered on: 6/11/13, 7:14 pm by Phillip Wheeler

Yes. You can sue them for appropriation of likeness for business advantage.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At Law- caonlinelawyer.com P.O. BOX 665 Morro Bay, CA 93443-0665

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/11/13, 7:15 pm by Joel Selik

Yes!


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


www.SelikLaw.com Box 1448 San Diego And Las Vegas, CA 92079

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/11/13, 8:19 pm by Bryan Whipple

I agree that the answer is yes, but I disagree with Mr. Wheeler's theory of the company's liability. I also question whether you could sue for compensation. More likely, your suit would be a simple action to cease using your name; I'm rather skeptical that you could get damages unless, of course, you can prove that you've actually suffered some amount of dollarizable financial harm.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/11/13, 8:55 pm by Kelvin Green

I agree that there is a cause...my guess that a strongly worded letter would get their attention. I think that damages would be difficult to prove but you certainly could do a cease and desist letter


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Office of Kelvin Green . California Bar #286285, CA ..

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/11/13, 11:01 pm by John Laurie

Yes you can. Would like to know more before I comment on damages.

This gratuitous response does not create an attorney client relationship. The advice provided herein is generic, may not apply to your circumstances and is not to be relied upon in your actions. An attorney client relationship is created only upon execution of an engagement letter hiring me or my firm.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search