California  |  Business Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 10/18/13, 8:25 am

Party A & B have a written contract, signed by both parties. Party B is not being paid under the terms of the original agreement and Party A finally agrees to alter the payment terms, but does so in writing in the form of an email. There was no official amendment made to the original contract, with both parties signing. Is the email promise from Party A to Party B to pay enforceable and/or binding?

3 Answers


Answered on: 10/18/13, 8:36 am by Frank Natoli

Probably. The email can certainly serve as a "writing" to modify a written agreement.

Of course, the facts can matter here, so you may want to consult a lawyer in private if you have any concerns.

If you would like to discuss further over a free phone consult, feel free to contact me anytime that is convenient.

Kind regards,

Frank

www.LanternLegal.com

866-871-8655

frank@lanternlegal.com

DISCLAIMER: this is not intended to be specific legal advice and should not be relied upon as such. No attorney-client relationship is formed


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Natoli-Lapin, LLC 304 Park Avenue South, 11th Floor New York, NY 10010

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/18/13, 8:44 am by Timothy McCormick

The key word in the previous answer is "probably." A review of the terms of the original written contract and the course of conduct and dealing between the parties would be required before a really reliable opinion could be given.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/18/13, 8:46 am by Carl Starrett

Under most circumstances, California law allows parties to a written contract to make verbal modifications to the written agreement. You'll want to check to see if the contract has any provisions requirement amendments to be in writing.

Some courts have held that email exchanges like what you described could be sufficient enough of a "writing" to overcome a contract term that requires written amendments.

to be 100% sure, you should have an attorney review the contract and the emails.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II 1941-C Friendship Drive El Cajon, CA 92020-1144

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search