California  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
2/22/09, 5:05 pm

Legal Question


California State Constitution

I attend a ''private'' christian

university called Point Loma

Nazarene University in San Diego

California. At this school students

must sign a contract called the

''covenant'' every year which outlines

behavioral expectations for the

students based on christian ethics.

For instance we are required to

attend a church themed chapel

service every monday wednesday

and friday. If we break with this

requirement or any others in the

covenant we are fined or punished.

MY question is whether or not the

school is allowed to force us to follow

these rules that have inherently

christian presuppositions when the

school accepts state FASFA,

CALGRANT, ROTC, and Military GI

funding? I remember a famous boy

scouts case where they boy scouts

lost funding and the use of

government property because they

were discriminating religiously and

against people of different sexual

orientation and making the

government complicit in this by

accpeting their funds. I do not,

however remember when this case

took place nor what state it took

place in.

thank you very much for your time


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search