California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Student Slander
My son was unjustly removed from his HS football team and then re-instated by the Superintendant after an intense investigation. The Coach quit as a result. Since then in general as well as in public (school town hall style meeting) adults and students alike are stating that my son was suspended 5 times, had to be removed by security, was screaming vulgarities out on the filed etc. None of which are true I assure you. My sons reputation has been seriously damaged by this and the remaining coaches/school site administrators have done nothing to squelch these rumors from flying around. I am concerned from my sons safety as these people are angry (to the point of screaming at the superintendant and aggresivly moving toward him) thinking he has done all of this and was still allowed back on the team, my daughter who also attends the same school is afraid that someone may approach her or follow them (my son and her) home. These people (adults and kids) have a lynch mob mentality. I dont know what do, I beleive the school should have to put a stop to this but they are not and now I am actually worried about my childrens safety as well as my own. Can I file suit for slander? Does the school sit have a resposiblity to stop this?


