California | Technology Law
Legal Question
Software Code Ownership
I have hired a contractor to develop a website for me. He has done a lot of the work upfront in order to compete for the contract. Due to his work upfront, he is requesting that he keep a copy of the code when the project is complete for his portfolio of technical information and sample codes he has accumulated over the years. . I am willing to give him a copy, but want to ensure he does not re-use, distribute, or sell this copy of the code. Overall, how can I ensure that if I give him a copy of the code that he will not re-use, distribute, etc? What sort of clause or statements do I need to put in my contract?


