California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
7/27/07, 2:01 am

Legal Question


Construction Materials

We fired our contractor last week and since we paid him a $1000 deposit for insulation, which he hasn't started, and overpaid on a few of the other jobs in our new home construction, can we keep the materials (insulation/lumbar) he has on our property? I am concerned that he hasn't paid the suppliers and we'll get a mechanical lien placed on our home. Can we hold on to the supplies that are unused since we already paid him and he hasn't paid his suppliers? We didn't want to break any laws by holding the insulation material and lumbar and not allowing him to take it with him since he's been fired from the job?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search