California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
2/04/07, 8:33 pm

Legal Question


recover down payment

Our neighbor introduced her nephew to us as a contractor for home remodeling. He claimed he was big builder and only takes small project like ours for his Aunt. We trusted him quickly and signed a contract for remodeling the kitchen and adding second floor in March, 2006. From March to April, 2006, he has collected our down payment a few times in total of $83000 (we did not know down payment more than $1000 is against California Construction law). The down payment including permit fee, designing fee, foundation inspection and 25% of total cost ($20,000). He has never started any work till now. Nor we received any blueprint for architect designing. He applied the permit for the kitchen but never picked it up. He has never applied permit for the second floor.We recently found that the contractor' license number was suspended by CSLB in Dec 2006 for not paying his material provider. We went to his office and talked to him on Dec 13, 2006, and he agreed to refund us. But we have never received the money. We have filed CSLB for two weeks and waiting for response.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search