California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
3/13/08, 2:34 pm

Legal Question


Ebay buyer summoned me to Florida Court

In October 07' I sold an inflatable haunted house on ebay. The item was listed as being a store return, may have minor flaws or signs of wear, has not been tested, and sold AS IS.

The buyer 9 days after Halloween filed paypal dispute saying it didn't work. Paypal ruled in MY favor saying it was listed correctly. I assumed the buyer just wanted money back after holiday, as I had sold many of these with no complaint.

Today I got a court summons to appear in a Florida Court on April 18. I live in California, the item was shipped from CA. and purchased on ebay. Doesn't the person have to file a claim in my county, being as I'm the defendent? I feel I was right with this, and don't want to pay the money back, but a trip to FL. would cost more than to pay back. what can I do? Doesn't the person have to come here for court? Any help is much appreciated. Thank You in advance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search