Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

Today, I sold a puppy to lady and she asked if we could take a check. I told her we could as long as we got her license number. She wrote down her license number on the check and I verified to make sure it matched. She took the puppy and later my family asked why I took a check. I told them I took it because I got her license number and we can dispute if she had a bad check. They continued to tell me that it is impossible to get the money back because the name on the check was a male's name and she was a female. Previously, she told me that she was purchasing this for her boyfriend so I didn't really think much of it. So my question is, if I have the license number of the woman who wrote the check and the checks are not hers, can I still take legal action? Wouldn't that be considered forging a check? What if the checks were hers? Thanks, this is really on my mind.

Asked on 7/31/13, 7:03 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Laurie Gertz and Laurie
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Cash the check first and see what happens. If the check is good there is no problem.

Read more
8/03/13, 10:40 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now