California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Attorney Fees
We hired an attorney for my husband’s child custody case. The last court date was the end of March and is finished. We have still been receiving invoices almost monthly with additional charges. We have paid them over $7500 but still owe supposedly an additional $1800 and they are threatening to send us to collections. We don't mind paying the bill but are questioning some of the charges. We have been told pretty much that we are not allowed to ask questions regarding invoicing and need to pay the balance due now. They also have not supplied us with a copy of our original agreement or a release as our attorney on file. We were told that because the case is over there is no need to take their name off as the attorney of record but I have heard differently. Thanks for your time.


