California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
4/01/02, 4:59 pm

Legal Question


Can a collection agency contact my neighbor or spouse?

I have a credit card account that has been given to a collection agency. This agency left a msg on my machine and then turned around and picked a neighbor at random off my street and left a message with her for me to call them.

Is this legal?

Also, the card is in my name only. Are they allowed to find out where my husband works and call him? They already have his name and I don't know how they got that.

Much appreciated!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search