California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/14/08, 7:24 pm

Legal Question


Died in Debt Is Spouse Obligated

My father in law, a California resident, passed away at 79 in a nursing home with $6,000 debt for his dentures and $1,500 debt on one store credit card. He was on social security. He had no assets other than a mobil home in which his wife still lives. She is on social security which is totally consumed by space rent, utilities, food and medicine.

She notified both creditors of his death and now collection agencies are calling.

While she would like to pay, she is not in a position to do so. Is she obligated to pay for the dentures? Is she obligated to pay the credit card. Both were taken out in his name only, his income only since she never worked.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search