if I didnt know I was being chased by police while riding a motorcycle until I got to my friends home(owner of bike) he was arrested for the bike ride which I rode and now I have to turn my self in because my friend is innocent and well I was on the bike not him.
WHAT WILL MOST LIKELY BE MY PUNISHMENT FOR A RIDE I DID AND DID NOT KNOW I WAS BEING CHASED BY POLICE OR THEY WERE TRYING TO PULL ME OVER , I HAD NO IDEA.UNTIL THEY CAME TO HIS HOME AND AFTER I CHANGED CLOTHS LIKE 20 MIN LATER CAME AND ARRESTED MY FRIEND WHICH THEY THOUGHT WAS ON THE BIKE SINCE HE IS THE OWNER OF BIKE.
QUESTION: IN YOLO COUNTY THIS HAPPENED, WHAT WILL BE MY SENTENCE?
2 Answers from Attorneys
Yolo County? I went to school at UC Davis so I know all about Yolo County. Isn't the courthouse still in Woodland?
It is completely understandable that you did not know you were being chased. The problem is that you are going to have to go to court and explain this to the judge. Motorcycles are loud and if you were wearing a helmet, they are even louder.
My advice in a serious situation like this is to obtain a lawyer. If you can't afford one, obtain a public defender. Public defender's still cost a little money but you need to make the decision on what you want to do.
I would obtain an attorney because you do not want this on your record. PLEASE obtain a lawyer; it sounds like you have a solid case so long as you have no priors.
DISCLAIMER: This is general information only and based upon limited information. Facts that could change the outcome have not been evaluated. This gratuitous response does not create an attorney client relationship. The advice provided herein is generic, may not apply to your circumstances and is not to be relied upon in your actions. An attorney client relationship is created only upon execution of a retainer agreement hiring me or my firm.
Your sentence depends on what you are charged with, and convicted of. You have not set forth the charges, as I believe I mentioned in your earlier post. You have not told us whether you have prior charges, or any other enhancing charges.
Assuming that you are only charged with violating Vehicle Code section 2800.1, then the maximum sentence is one year in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. That fine does not include all the enhancements and other fees that are attached when you get sentenced. Also, the court can impound your car for up to 30 days, and suspend or restrict your driver's license.
But there are other enhancing factors that can be charged, such as Vehicle Code section 2800.2, which can carry additional penalties. I don't like the fact that you reposted without providing the additional information requested. If you don't feel comfortable posting the information in a public forum such as this, then do everyone a favor and speak to a criminal defense attorney in private.
Related Questions & Answers
The other day I looked myself up on the SB county Court website and discovered that... Asked 6/11/13, 3:56 am in United States California Criminal Law
In california i was charged with a felony, which is grand theft, and i missed... Asked 6/10/13, 1:09 pm in United States California Criminal Law
California 16 year old girl stands 10 feet away from a fight between her boyfriend... Asked 6/09/13, 10:35 am in United States California Criminal Law
What goes on your record if you plead guilty to possession of a controlled substance... Asked 6/09/13, 10:20 am in United States California Criminal Law
My landlord has stolen from me REPEATEDLY, including money-in SEVERAL instances,... Asked 6/09/13, 12:32 am in United States California Criminal Law