California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
2/04/09, 7:46 pm

Legal Question


Wrongful termination?

After more than 30 years of faithful dedication to her employer, my Mother recieved a letter of termination while on temp disability for vision loss. She was losing her eyesight rapidly due to severe glaucoma and was not responding well to treatments. While only off of work for 1 month, she recieved the Letter of T (from her new boss of 4 months) stating she was not performing her duties as Director. #1, she was losing her eyesight and it was taking twice as long to perform her regular duties. She told her boss that is was difficult as she was making mistakes and taking more time to review her work. And #2, she spent several months training her new boss about the many contracts and programs in the agency. There was lots to learn and my Mother had over 30 years of knowledge. So yes, because of her eyesight and the time it took to train her new boss, it did have an affect on her normal responsibilites. Could she be fired for that? There may have been reason for retaliation on part of the new boss and there was motive to get my Mother out of the way as the new boss was displaying dishonesty, hostility and intimidation among the staff and my Mother had to have 3 different discussions with her new boss about it. She didnt like my mom


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search