Legal Question in DUI Law in California

DUI case: I was involved in a DUI accident back in around 1997. I lost control of my car and crashed. I'm curious to know how long a person should be jailed after a DUI arrest. blood test confirmed BAC. The incident was in LA County. I was taken to jail and my stay lasted 2-3 days, then shipped out to court, and then shipped back to jail for another 5-6 days(7 days total). I went back to court for trial after my 7-day imprisonment with a private lawyer.

Recently I've been hearing my jail-stay was longer than typical. Did the legal system make a mistake in jailing me this long before a trial?

Asked on 9/03/13, 1:16 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

CHAD MADDOX Law Offices of CHAD MADDOX
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

PC1382 requires that you be given a trial within 30 days when you are in custody and the case is a misdemeanor, 45 days if it is a felony. therefore, 7 days is well withing the limit by law.

Read more
9/03/13, 1:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88099 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now