California | Education Law
Legal Question
Gifted Child Disruptive in Class
We live in Orange County, and my 8-year-old daughter is in the GATE program. She has always had behavior problems in class. I received a letter today from her teacher indicating that they are creating a formal record of her behavior and having her monitored by others. She is disruptive, but not dangerous. Her schoolwork is top-notch. Her teacher writes that she is ''violating other children's rights to an education and my right to teach.'' I fear that they are trying to remove her from the GATE program. She is highly gifted and this program provides an important and appropriate education for her. Before she entered GATE in 2nd grade, she was bored to death in class and was receiving an education that was well beneath her abilities. Her teachers generally used her to tutor other children -- not, I feel, an appropriate use of what is supposed to be her learning time. I am frightened to death and feel that I should hire an attorney to represent my child's interests. Can you guide me as to what my next steps should be?


