California  |  Education Law

question bubble
10/18/07, 11:38 pm

Legal Question


termination

I have worked for the same community college for 28 years. I’ve never been written up or disciplined for anything. 6 weeks ago, they put me on paid administrative leave for allegations of inappropriate behavior. The very next day they put me on the administrative leave I met with Human Resources to find out what they were talking about specifically which they could not tell me anything at that time. Finally I was called back after 6 weeks and handed a termination packet with the chance to appeal if I so desire, which I am. I am being terminated for a few incidents where I said I had a doctor’s appointment and didn’t go to it instead I met a friend. They did not know this until they put me on the leave and locked me out of our email system and then went through all of my personal emails. So they are saying I falsified documents and therefore I am being terminated. Is what I did something they can strip me of 28 years of employment with them in which I’ve never been in trouble for anything?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search