California | Elder Law
Legal Question
I am inquiring about a “Living Trust“ for my 83 yr old mother who is not doing so well. Her and my dad purchase this California home in 1962 for $16,000 (my parents divorced in the 1980’s, my mom bought out the house, my dad has since passed away) and my mom has lived in the house ever since. The home is now free and clear and worth about $400,000 now. She has very minimal liquid assets and a few small life insurance plans (burial plans worth no more than $30,000). My question is, she has been receiving medical assistance from Medical or Medicare over the last 40 years, mainly just standard medical coverage, doctor’s visit and the like, But she has had a few surgeries, the bill on one of those was over $70,000. She wants to put the house in a “Living Trust” but is VERY concerned that Medicare / Medical will come after her or her estate for reimbursements. Will a “Living Trust” protect her estate?
Thank you very much for any assistance.
Sam Seaman
Top Areas of Law


