California | Elder Law
Legal Question
I have POA for my Dad who is 85 yrs old. He has dementia, is very, very forgetful and seems to be getting worse as he ages. I don not have conservership. My Dad wants his money to play in the stock market which is why I took it away from him because he needs it to live on and he has lost more than I can tell you. He says it's his money and I have to give it to him. I keep telling him, I'm not going to give him any money to play in the market. I am tired of fighting him because there is no reasoning with him anymore. I am ready to through in the towel. If I do and he looses all his money, he'll end up on the street without any place to live. Would or could I be charged with elder abuse in that case? Do you have any suggestions as what I should do?


