Legal Question in Family Law in California

I have a 3yr old daughter. She isn't my biological daughter. My name is on the birth certificate. My ex-girlfriend wants my name off the birth certificate. What's right do i have? My ex girlfriend is planning to file for welfare? I don't want to pay child support. What options do i have? . Do they have the right to take my name off the birth certificate even though I'm not the biological father. I just want to know my best options of not paying child support . Is the best option for me is to just take my name off and have nothing dealing with her? I have a question at the mediation process, can i make a arraignment for money to take my name off.

Asked on 2/27/12, 9:44 am

2 Answer from Attorneys

Arlene Kock Law Offices of Arlene D .Kock APLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If she is not your biological child and you do not want a relationship with her, then request a DNA test to establish you are not the father.

Read more
Answered on 2/27/12, 3:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now