California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Third Identical Suit by Plaintiff
I'm being sued for the third time (each case identical) by someone who is obsessed. I've been advised that if I can get a certified copy of the Motion for Summary Judgment from the last case (dismissed with prejudice), in front of the judge for the current case, I could probably get the current case dismissed, as well. All of my opponent's complaints are based on the same ''evidence'' from his original case, filed in 2000 (also dismissed). During the second case in 2004, the judge agreed the complaints were time-barred. Does a lawyer have to write a new Motion for Summary Judgment to accompany the old Motion for Summary Judgment? How many billable hours would normally be required for this? I trust the judgment of the high-profile lawyer who told me this is not a complicated matter (unfortunately he can't rep me due to a conflict of interest). He showed me how all the necessary case law had already been laid out in the MSJ the last judge reviewed. Other lawyers, however, are quoting $20K just to get started, telling me that the matter is complicated and won't be cheap. Considering that the Plaintiff is acting pro per, and his current complaint doesn't even state a case, this doesn't sound right. Thank you.


