Legal Question in Immigration Law in California

My friend's nanny has been married just over 1 year (married 6/2010) and now her husband (US citizen) is threatening to divorce her. It is not clear if he is cheating. What happens to the nanny's temporary residency status since it has not been the full 2 years from marriage? The marriage was for love/ in good faith. Can the nanny still apply for permanent residency?

Asked on 8/22/11, 11:38 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Attorney Caro Kinsella Law Offices of Caro Kinsella
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Nanny would now have to self petition on the grounds of divorce

Read more
8/22/11, 11:55 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now