California | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Title Insurance defect discovered
Own my home w/title insurance. Later, had refinance done & purchased more title insur. I believe a lender's policy. Title was clear. Months later, found a deed. Due to the failure of lending policy title co to find this transfer deed, it cost me over $100k. I was given the refi for 100% of the asset, but only owned 50% of it. Title co failed to do research. I had no idea there was a recorded deed on my property, when my parents had me refi & made transfer to me, it caused me to be sued, because I was dealing with another entity. I would have handled it differently when I took the loan in my name, the loan officer would have gotten the other party to sign off & complete a quit claim deed, so I wouldn't have been stuck paying for the whole asset, & only own a fraction of it. I have paperwork showing the date of refi, & that they missed deed already on record & they should have seen it at the recorder's office. Even though a lender's policy, isn't this Title Co. responsible for their error, as I relied on the clear title to sign loan papers. My owner's policy, from years ago said not their issue. Refi Title Co willing to talk to me. Can lender help me?Want to know rights? as Title Co. hid or failed to disclose defect.
Experienced California Attorneys
At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.


