California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
2/21/06, 1:48 am

Legal Question


Liability when re-selling movies that may have illegal copyrighted materials

I own a small video rental store. I would like to sell and rent movies (on VHS or DVD) produced and made by independent film makers from around the country (i.e. non-Hollywood movies). I have no idea if those independent film makers have legally or illegally used music in their movies (i.e. for background music or theme songs, etc.).

Question 1: Will I be infringing copyright laws if I rent or sell these movies if I don't actually know the film maker broke copyright laws (assuming copyright were actually violated)?

Question 2: If I create a release agreement, can I shift all liability to the film maker who committed the violation (and who lied to me about copyrights)? I.e. a contract that says ''I, the film maker, hereby affirm that I have not violated any copyright laws in the making of my movie,

and, if I have, then the Video Rental Store who is selling my movies had no knowledge of my illegal actions and I am solely responsible for the charges that would be brought, i.e. $30,000 for each instance.''

Thank you for your time and knowledge.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search