California  |  Investment Law

question bubble
9/27/10, 2:47 pm

Legal Question


My brother passed away in Oct 2009. He had an investment account with a large sum of money in it. The investment broker is aware that my brother had passed...however, my brother indicated an ex-girlfriend as the beneficiary 100%. We've tried contacting the ex but she will not return any of our messages. The broker mentioned that until the ex claims the money, the acct will remain open. If the ex does not claim the money, the account will eventually be closed and the money will be escheated to the State of Calif. and only then can the family claim the money. My question is, what is the length of time it takes before the money is escheated? That is, from the time of death?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search