California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Answer to felony conviction on employment application
I was convicted of a felony ~ 15 years ago on a charge of embezzlement. As part of my sentence, by completing restitution and probation, this conviction was reduced to a misdemeanor. I am now applying for employment with several companies. I recently completed an application with a temp agency, answering 'no' to the ''have you ever been convicted of a felony'' question, due to the reduction of this to a misdemeanor. However, after accepting some assignments, was offered a 'temp to hire' position requiring a 'full background check'. At that time, I informed the temp agency of this situation and was terminated by the temp agency. The questions I have are:
How should the question ''have you ever been convicted of a felony'' be answered on an employment application?
Legally, what is the disposition of this case?
What would a 'full background check' show as to this case?
What options do I have to have this permanently removed from my record?
Thank you


