California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
4/15/05, 3:15 pm

Legal Question


Employer liable for employee behavior.

An employee struck a twelve-year-old child while performing paid duties of supervision of children. When employer was confronted with the allegations they stated that they do not hire employees to strike children and therefore had no legal obligation to perform any sort of investigation or to reprimand or hold the employee accountable for the behavior. The employer was a public school and the employee was a part time lunch supervisor. The questions are

1. Does the employer have a responsibility under law to investigate the claim and 2. Should the employee have employer provided legal council?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search