California | Employment Law
Legal Question
She Was Forced to Sign a Release in Order to Receive Wages: Illegal?
My fiance was discriminated against and wrongfully terminated. Her employer, knowing himself to be liable and fearful that she may pursue a lawsuit, refused to pay her owed wages unless she signed a release promising not to sue him. The release also states that by signing, she is relinquishing any claims to additional wages, which she is, in fact, still owed.
Does the following law apply, and if so, is the release null and void? If not, why, and does her signing this agreement bar litigation for discrimination?
Labor Code 206.5. No employer shall require the execution of any release of any claim or right on account of wages due, or to become due, or made as an
advance on wages to be earned, unless payment of such wages has been made. Any release required or executed in violation of the provisions of this section shall be null and void as between the employer and the employee and the violation of the provisions of this section shall be a misdemeanor.


