California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Liability for Injury
Thanks for any help you might be able to give. A friend was working for a sub-contractor whose general contractor cut two access holes withing inches of each other in a ceiling. While stepping in the attic, he partially fell through one of the access holes, which had not been made obvious by the contractor. He was injured and received a settlement from the comp carrier for the sub-contractor. He now would like to collect possible damages from the general contractor. How should he proceed? If he loses the case, will he be responsible for the contractor's legal fees? Can you recommend a lawyer in the San Fernando Valley area of Los Angeles who practices in this area? Thanks.


