California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Physical Harrassment Report & Employer Retaliation
In November 2002, a co-worker came at me physically and threatened me in the workplace. I immediately reported the incident to my manager, and documented the incident. I filed a report with HR. HR conductd an investigation. In February 2003, HR read a written report that selectively reported their modified version of the incident, and included his claim that I was ''rude and overbearing''. The result is that both he & I are on probation for 6 months, and will be forced to make a public apology to each other and to the management team for wasting their time. HR has stated that they could have terminated either of us at any time, and that by offering a probation, they are doing us a favor. In addition, we both need to attend a conflict resolution session with a counselor hired by the company. The report is false and the process is against my ethics. I can't afford to lose my income from this job at this time. What are my rights? Can I submit a letter stating that I do not agree with the report and the process and ask that it is filed along with HR's report? I would greatly appreciate your advice. Thank you.


