California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
2/23/10, 8:14 am

Legal Question


When does possession of someone elses property become theft? We had an employee who regularly removed and maintained in his possession company property (computer files). We believe he did this as his performance was sub par and he felt that he could hold us hostage if he were terminated. When we discovered that he was taking home our files, we asked that he return them. He refused and threatened to delete all the information he had. After numerous phone calls, he relented and returned the information (3 days later).


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search