California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
4/09/08, 12:36 pm

Legal Question


Sexual Discrimination? Workplace Violence?

I am a man who works for a delivery company. I have been there for years and had an injury unrelated to work leading to surgery. After the surgery I was unable to perform the very heavy work I had been doing, so I was placed in an on-call position. I want to work full-time but often I work less than 20 hours in a week. There is a recently-hired woman performing the same work as me who is consistently given EASY, light work, and given many more hours per week than I am, doing work I could do. Since I have years of seniority at this business, is it considered sexual discrimination that I am not being offered the work she is given?

I requested an appointment in writing with the person in charge of this to discuss my options and my concerns. Instead of making an appointment to talk, she screamed at me in the hallway with many coworkers watching. Until then, that person, who is not my boss, had always been friendly and I don't know what prompted the outlash. Is that considered workplace violence? I am confused/angry/upset and I feel my rights are being violated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search