California | Employment Law
Legal Question
workplace violence/retaliation from boss
Was victim of workplace violence (threats/aggression). This person was charged before with civil harassment from previous employer. It involved verbal threats, profanity, wording regarding Iraq war and I have a Middle Eastern spouse. I reported it and shortly after formal complaint (within hrs) retaliation began. I reported that to HR and to DFEH. Got a right to sue (B) letter. FBI called in. Conditions at work became more hostile from manager. I continued to report this. Was retaliated against again, by manager; this time switching my schedule, costing me my second job, causing child care problems, and costing me loss in shift differential for this job. This doesn't even cover the emotional hell the boss has caused me. no schedule change for the perpetrator. Now i am in more direct contact with him also, after stating I was afraid to work with him further. Was told other worker counseled and put on corrective action, but boss denies this and said my claim has no merit, eventhough another coworker was attacked at same time, by this same worker and who has quit since, due to this issue. Any advice without costing me a big retainer fee? or more than 35%. I am losing money left and right from salary loss and have none to spare.


