California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
10/03/03, 3:45 pm

Legal Question


Breaking unsigned lease

I am unable to afford the rent on my apartment anymore and gave notice to my landlord. She said that according to our lease we continue to pay rent and foreit our security deposit. When I looked at what we had signed the actual lease agreement was not signed by either my roomate or myself where it says acceptance. We only intialed the back where it said the concerns about lost keys and a tenancy agreement that states nothing about us having to continue rent or loose our security deposit. Since the actual leasing part was not signed doesnt it make our tenancy there on a month to month basis and our 30 day notification grounds for us to leave without paying any extra fees? (She refuses to show us her copy of the lease stating we have the same copies)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search