California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
2/27/07, 6:49 pm

Legal Question


No heater, no ventilation

I have lives in my apartment for

about 6 months and I have no

heater. I have been trying to get a

heater, even calling and filing a

complaint with the city. My landlady

never gets anything done, and I am

FREEZING in my apartment, and

consistantly getting sick. It is around

50 degrees sometimes in my

apartment in the morning. Could I

break my lease if they refuse to put

in a heater? Is there a way to get

them to put it in? Also, the building

inspector pointed out that by law the

bathroom must have some form of

ventilation. I have no vent, no heat,

and my window is sealed shut. Yet

another problem both the landlady

and the managers are aware of and

do not fix. Since there seems to be a

bit of a turn over in my building, it

seems that they try to get people to

move out so they can jack up the

cost of rent every new tenant they

recieve. How do I know that they

aren't doing this to me too?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search