Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

I just moved in beginning of the month. Me and my landlord agreed I'd put the utility bills in my name. On the 2nd I asked her the name and phone number of the util. companies she used. On the 5th she txted me the info and asked when i could switch it. I told her that by the 8th (3 days later) I would have it transferred to my name. On the 7th I come home from work at 6:30pm and there's no power. I called her and she said she told the power company to shut it off on the 8th and THEY made a mistake and shut off a day earlier. I asked why she shut it off, I just had to transfer. She couldn't come up w an answer. I told her I'd call them the next day (the 8th) transfer to my name and get it turned back on. She calls the power company first thing in the morning asking them to get the power turned on. I'm at work, and she called my cell 13 times. I can't be on my phone. I'm a banker, I can never take a call specially with a customer at my desk. When I call the power co, they told me she had asked them to go turn the power on in the morning and when they got there she asked if the bill was already in my name and they said no, she told them to leave it off. So, when I called and transferred to my name on my lunch break they said they could only turn it back on the following day because they were booked and already went to the property and were sent away by her. Besides that she left her things (clothing, furniture) in the house for 12 days when she told me she'd get it out in four. She asked me to go to the house to grab something every day. After the power incident I told her I didn't want to stay here anymore. I don't want someone calling me 13 times while I'm at work, coming here everyday or leaving me without power for 2 days. She's been so rude about the whole thing, saying I was suppose to change everything to my name on the first, but she didn't even give me the info till the 5th! She tells me the power co told her she had to shut it off to get in my name. I put her in a conference call with the company and they told her straight up she was lying! Now I have to find a new place to move, come up with more money for dep and rent and wait 2 weeks after I leave to see if she gives me my deposit back. What can I do about this whole situation?

Asked on 8/20/13, 8:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kelvin Green The Law Office of Kelvin Green
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your only option may be small claims court. Make sure you have as much evidence as possible

Read more
8/20/13, 8:56 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now