Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

My roommate and I signed a lease agreement (both names are on the lease as "residents") and both have signed and initialed Agreement. One of us wants to exercise early termination which means a $2000 fee. Are both of us liable to pay the $2000 fee (split 50/50) or just the roommate that wants to leave?

Asked on 8/18/13, 11:43 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daphne Macklin Law Office of Daphne L. Macklin
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes you would both be responsible for the fee. But the non-defaulting party as in the person who wants to stay may be entitled to a refund of $1000 from the defaulting party.

Read more
8/18/13, 11:55 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now