California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
security deposit
in california, how long do i have to sue my landlord for the security deposit?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jerold M. Gorski |
Re: security deposit California Civil Code section 1950.5 deals with security deposits generally.
There are various statute of limitations, including on written contracts (generally a 4 year statute of limitations), oral contracts (generally a 2 year statute of limitations), etc.
However, no one should rely on an answer on LawGuru as legal advice, because, among other things, it depends on all the circumstances. Things such as and among others, was it an oral or written lease; was there a subsequent agreement regarding the return of deposit; was the money returned to the wrong address (or direct deposited to the wrong account); do you have other claims that might expire sooner; might the landlord declare bankruptcy before you decide to sue or are able to collect; does the legal defense of laches apply if you wait longer to file suit; etc.
I know the question is simple, but it truly depends on many factors and it would be unwise for any attorney to tell you that you had X amount of time without knowing more. Thus, pursue your rights without delay. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


