California  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
7/12/10, 8:59 am

Legal Question


There are 8 people in an investment only 2 wanted to file a law suit against the Receiver who failed in his duties to take over the corporate accounts as ordered by the courts ( the head of the corporation withdrew over $ 2 million while it was under Receivership ) . The 2 of us have spent a great deal of time and money getting to the point that we now have a solid case against this person . We hired an attorney that is based in both California and Nevada . The individual resides in nevada . Now the other 6 want in and so we introduced them to the attorney as it appeared we would have a stronger case as a group . However we have asked the new group to reimburse us for monies and time we have put out over the last 2 years getting it to this point . We have given our attorney copious notes , bank statements , a great deal of evidence for our case . The new group is not willing to entertain our proposal so we told the attorney to forget the others . She now informs us that she wants to take them on as clients too and while she says it would be better if we came together , she will also act as their attorney . I have asked if it is legal for her to share all our proprietary information we have given her over the last 3 or 4 months with them if we don't want her to . She has not answered the question . Is it legal for our attorney to use all our information to represent a new client without our permission ???????????


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search