California  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
10/13/04, 6:21 am

Legal Question


Severe nerve damage after Carpal Tunnel surgery

Before moving to NC, I had my ortho do a CTS on my right hand, though I was diagnosed with bi-lateral CTS.

I never saw him before or after the surgery that day, and awoke with numb fingers. I was not sent to PT or told to do anything but take pain meds if needed. By the time I saw hime 2 weeks later, my hand was worse - and now I am in pain constantly, with the left hand symptomatic as well.

When he initially suggested surgery, he never explained the procedure, recovery or possible complications - this is typical for him. The nurses at the surgical center joke about him being the 'phantom surgeon' with crappy after-care.

He did surgery on my right knee months before, and the same thing happened, and i wrote a letter to the Chair of the Group, who was my primary doctor. He was very unhappy and said he'd talk about it at the next board meeting.

If I lose the use of my hands, I have no way to make a living - I cannot stand for long periods of time, and suffer from bi-polar disease and post-Traumatic Syndrom, as well as chronic pain from 3 previously bulging cervical discs.

I don't know if it was the open-release technique that failed, his after care. I think he should have referred me to a hand specialist.


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search