California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/28/05, 11:45 am

Legal Question


Informal written property sale agreement

My boyfriend and I bought a house together. Recently we have been going through some difficulties in our relationship and he wanted to buy me out on the house. I felt pressured but signed something he wrote out saying I would sell my share of the house at a specific price. We are working on things in the relationship and not going through with any buyout at this point in time but I am having second thoughts about my signing that and wondering how binding it is. If he brought it out at any point in the future would I be forced to sell at that price or would I be able to dispute it successfully? If I did have to dispute how complicated and expensive might that be?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search