California  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/19/13, 12:41 pm

Does a recorded deed that explicitly says "gift of equity", and grants from A to A & B automatically mean that A and B each have an undivided half interest? If the deed was executed to enable A and B to be co-borrows on an equity loan that B solely repaid for improvements to the property that only A occupied, does that in any way limit B's interest to the value of the equity loan?

3 Answers


Answered on: 6/19/13, 2:16 pm by Gary R. White

Maybe, but a full explanation of all the facts and circumstances surrounding the transaction would be required before a competent answer could be given.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Burton & White 1325 Howe Avenue, Suite 214 Sacramento, CA 95825

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/19/13, 3:38 pm by William Christian

I do not believe any one can really answer your question without being able to see the documents in question.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rodi Pollock 444 S Flower St Los Angeles, CA 90071

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/21/13, 4:29 pm by Anthony Roach

The terms "gift of equity" have nothing to do with the amount of the parties' interest. It means the owner sold to someone, who they usually have a prior relationship with like a child or friend, for less than market value. The lender will loan on it and treat the equity gift like a down payment. Certain amounts can also be excluded from gift taxes, but it does not change the percentage of ownership or change any of my previous responses to this question that you keep posting.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search