Re: Surviving Tenant in Common sale of house held up by heir search?
First, remember that a tenancy in common and a joint tenancy differ from one another most greatly as to what happens upon the death of one co-owner. In a joint tenancy (with right of survivorship), full title vests automatically in the surviving joint tenant(s), and showing a death certificate is probably all that's needed to remove the deceased co-owner's name from title.
However, when a tenant in common dies, her ownership interest doesn't pass to the co-owner; it passes to her heirs.
In this case, it looks like the will gave your aunt a life estate, and one son the remainder interest. This means your aunt has some of the rights and duties of an owner during her lifetime, but upon her death, the half interest formerly belonging to Aunt will belong to the heir son.
Your aunt therefore owns 1/2 of the house outright, but "owns" the other 1/2 only for life, something like a lessee with zero rent.
Since she doesn't have an outright fee-simple ownership of 100% of the property, she can't sell a 100% interest......she can sell what she has, but the House's desirability and marketability is impaired by the heir-son's remainder interest.
So, ownership of the House is now divided three ways: (1) Aunt's 1/2 fee-simple interest; (2) Aunt's life estate in the other 1/2 of the fee; and (3) Heir-son's remainder interest in the 1/2, which is dormant while Aunt is alive but becomes a possessory interest upon her death.
The importance of the missing non-heir son probably relates to how the will actually reads and whether it was properly probated. If in fact the non-heir son wasn't given any interest at all in the House, he may not by essential to any transactions, but unless Friend's estate was subjected to the probate process, that fact may not be sufficiently established.
Please note that death doesn't sever a tenancy in common; it merely substitutes the decedent's heir or heirs as new owner(s) of the decedent's interest. Both Aunt and heir-son got portions of Friend's half interest. Aunt got a life estate, and heir-son got the remainder interest.
Or so it appears from the facts as I understand them. I strongly recommend retaining a California attorney to do (at minimum) the following:
1. Determine the current record title status of the House;
2. Determine whether Friend's estate was probated properly and to conclusion;
3. Determine the rights of each of Friend's sons;
4. Review the property tax, estate and gift tax, and other tax consequences of the proposed sale;
5. Obtain an appraisal of the fair market values of the various interests in the House (it looks like there are three);
6. Explain the situation, advise and recommend; and
7. Take whatever actions in court may be necessary (complete probate, sue to quiet title, etc. -- maybe not necessary, but might be.).