California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
4/21/07, 11:35 am

Legal Question


Co-worker who preys on married women

I have a co-worker who belongs to my circle of friends; last year he fell in love with me, even though I am married and repeatedly told him that we were just going to be friends. He told me that he loved me in and out of the workplace, and really made working uncomfortable for me. His remarks were not sexual in nature, but he did repeatedly want to know why I didn't love him. I have since told him to stop and that we were going to be work friends only. Since then he has respected my wishes, although recently he tried to initiate a couple of phone calls outside of work. I reminded him that we are ''work friends'' and he was treading on that boundary. Last week I found out from another married female employee that he has been following her around and asking her if she wanted to have an affair. She feels that this is very annoying and is starting to get really freaked out about it. One of her co-workers to report him. In my situation I thought he just made a serious lapse in judgement, but now that I know he's bothering another woman, I think we serious problem on our hands. Management has not yet been notified since we haven't decided the course of action we want to take. What steps should we take?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search