California | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Sexual Harrassment.
My sister just received a reprimand from her company for not attending a business lunch with with her sales manager apparently he asked her 3 times and she refused. The problem is the sales manager never specified it was for business, she has had other lunches with her supervisor and had uncomfortable conversations in regards to her personal life. Now her president says she is ungrateful and she replied in the meeting with him that she has had uncomfortable experiences with the manager and he was on vacation when he invited her to those lunches. Now the reason for the lunch was to talk about unmet sales goals. This manager calls her cell after work hours, she has been sent to seminars for weekends with this manager and she has only been in the company a couple months. These seminars are usually for people with more seniority or experience. I am scared that since my sister has not crossed the line with her manager that he is trying to get her fired. Also a male in the same position has not recieved a reprimand for any sales goals or unethical conduct. The sales manager has also told her that she is beautiful, she shouldn't get married (she is 25), and made sexual comments towards and about her. Please help.


