California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
11/01/05, 12:23 am

Legal Question


I was fored for reporting sexual harassement

I was a flight attendant for a large

fractional jet ownership company. From the first

week, I was subjet to repearted and

unrelenting physical advaces from my superiors, the

male pilots. Weekly, upon meeting one, I was

ordered to hug them, which made me feel very

uncomfortable. Eventually, i really didn't want to

ever speak to them or be anywhere near them. The

hugging was avery common practice and when I

mentioned it to other female flight attendants, even

those happily married, they shrugged it off as part

of the job. One pilot in particular ordered a hug

from me, made it last riciculously long, while

shoving his genitals into me, and then grabbed me

and kissed me. I was so scared, but since he could

fire me instantly, I just said I wasn't used to THAT

at work. I was terrified of losing my job and all

the meanwhile I was just trying to fit in. I

reported this to my female supervisors. One

stated that I had a ''perception problem.'' Another

comment was ''So what? They hug me, too.'' The same

pilot grabbed me at a hotel after waiting for us to

be alone in an elevator and kissed me again. I was

up all night, scared


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search