California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/12/09, 4:25 pm

Legal Question


My father passed away almost two months ago. He had a very small estate that is not going through probate. My sister is listed as the beneficiary on his life insurance. Are we supposed to go through the courts for any reason or is everything supposed to be done between the two of us? We are the only heirs. He also had a bank account, two vehicles, a pension (with no beneficiary) and other personal belongings. I feel as though my sister is leaving me out of a lot of what is happening with his affairs and she is acting as if she is the executor of his estate. What can I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search