California  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/16/13, 3:12 pm

When a Will in Los Angeles County is being probated, how does it work when two witnesses sign? Do the witnesses need to be tracked down later to verify that that is their signatures once the decedent dies and the Will is being probated/validated? I guess I don't understand why notarization is not required.

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/16/13, 4:14 pm by Jennifer Rouse

The witnesses will only have to be contacted if the Will does not meet the requirements under the code or there is a Will contest. Otherwise, no need to contact the witnesses.

The law regarding Will requirements is based on old English law.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Meissner Joseph & Palley 1555 River Park Drive, Ste 108 Sacramento, CA 95815

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/16/13, 5:06 pm by William Christian

Wills do not require a notary. In fact, witnesses are required. Whether they will need to be located depends on the will form and whether it is self proving.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rodi Pollock 444 S Flower St Los Angeles, CA 90071

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/17/13, 1:47 pm by Anthony Roach

Because two witnesses are better than one crooked notary.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search