Legal Question in Workers Comp in California

I work as an independent contractor/freelance assistant for a sculptor in Los Angeles. I work in his studio 5 days a week and I use my car to run errands for the artist. I was recently injured on the job and I had to take off several days. I also had to go to the doctor and buy some medical supplies, neck brace, knee brace and shoulder brace due to my work place accident as well as pain medication. When I asked my employer if he has workman's comp to help take care of my medical bills and to help cover my time off he became very defensive. He told me because I am a freelancer I do not qualify for workman's comp in the state of California. Is this true? In the state of California is my employer exempt from providing workman's comp to his full time freelance employees?

Asked on 8/17/13, 10:16 am

Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping injured workers all over California. We can help you recover for your injuries as a result of an accident at work. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com

1 Answer from Attorneys

ARMAN MOHEBAN LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

There are over 20 factors that determines whether some one is employee or independent contractor. Feel free to call me at 213-388-7070 for a free consultation.

Read more
8/17/13, 5:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Workers' Compensation Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Workers' Compensation Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now