Legal Question in Insurance Law in Colorado

Long Term Disability Cut

My Employee long term disabiltiy was cut off prior to receiving notification of it being discontinued. The Insurance company claims I no longer eet their standards for disability. I have appealed thir claim along with my physicians and have recieved a letter stating that I can treat their delay as ''a reason for bringing a legal action for benefits now under ERISA Section 502 (a), rather than waiting until we have completed our evaluation of your claim.'' This was dated January 12th, 2004, they go on to say they are getting a medical professional to review my file. They cut off my benefits last July. I feel this is stalling my case & wonder if getting a lawyer would help my case? I took an occupational/vocational exam that showed I could not do my job as an RN due to lifting restrictions & due to the bizarre nature of my disability, I have Myasthenia Gravis, at times I look & feel great & the nest day I'm on the couch or in bed too weak to do things. Please advise with any information to help me, Thank you for your time and consideration.

Asked on 1/27/04, 12:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Long Term Disability Cut

There are attorneys who concentrate in disability law. I suggest you contact one in your state.

Read more
1/28/04, 6:50 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in Colorado

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Insurance Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now